Safety is Overrated

Like most mothers, I pray for the safety of my children and husband.  When they go off to school without me.  When I lay him down in his crib at night.  I pray God would keep them well, protected and far from disaster.

I want them not only to be safe but feel safe.

But down the road, I see there will be greater challenges to my peace when it comes to knowing they are safe.  Next year, my oldest will go to middle school.  Several of my friends have taken their children to college in other states for the first time this year.  A couple of friends have sons serving on the mission field in distant countries.  Safety is in question.

But as the prayers for safety leave my heart, the thing I desire more for them is to recognize the voice of God in their life and trust Him wholly.  I pray they would walk in the steps He has put out before them in everything they do.

From my own experience, I know God will allow us and sometimes place us in circumstances and places that will not feel safe.  Our safety and security is often challenged and we are left to question are we placing ourselves in the care of this world or the care of our Father?  Are we trusting that no matter where we go, who we are with and what happens that He is watching over us and will deliver us from harm?

More over, do we trust Him in our hurt,in sickness, in our suffering, as He gives and takes away?

Recently, a team of people from our church went to Haiti for a week.  My friend Phil usually sends emails while he is away telling of what he is seeing in Haiti and how he is further understanding our God and His ways.  Last week, he wrote this:

In church this morning, the pastor challenged everyone with a fairly simple question- do we really believe what is written in the Word? I think the question was posed in the form of whether it is “safe” to come to Haiti. I suppose the answer is, in turn, based on the question of whether God has called someone to come here. If the answer is no, then someone should not come. If the answer is “yes”, the answer should be the “safest” place to be is in the middle of God’s will. But what does that look like? Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego were in the middle of God’s will, yet they went into the furnace. Daniel was in the middle of God’s will, and 1-2-3, in he was tossed to the den. And we all know what happened to the prophets, and to the Christ himself. “Safety” from God’s perspective seems to be different than from mine. In the end, I think the question is not whether it is safe. For some people it is not  At least for me, the question is whether this is what I have been led to do. For the time being, the answer appears to be “yes.” I will leave the rest up to God.

What I want more than safety is for my family to be in the center of God’s will.  By that standard, safety is over rated.  But the struggle as a mom remains.  And likely… it always will.

Do you struggle with feeling safe?  Or worrying about others not being safe?  If so, how do you surrender it?

2 thoughts on “Safety is Overrated

  1. Suzie, I appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to write such encouraging posts. Thank you. What you wrote is so true. My little Judah, who is 5, was telling my husband about a bad dream he had the other day. He shared how in his dream some bad men took him. My husband comforted him and told him that would never happen, that the Lord will protect him, that his mommy and daddy would protect him… and so on. All the things you would tell your 5 year old when he is scared. As I walked into the other room I was thinking about what I just heard my husband say. I thought to myself, well there have been Christian kids abducted, there have been Christian families who have lost their children in a tragedy….of course I didn’t go back into the other room and tell my husband and little boy my thoughts:) Then your post reminded me of a time a few years ago that we took some kids from our former church with us to the Harvest crusade. Shorty after arriving home after a wonderful evening, my oldest son, who was eight at the time, was handed a folded up page from magazine, with us just in the other room. At that moment, he was exposed to something I prayed he would never be exposed to. Something that in my 37 years, I have never seen. My husband and I couldn’t sleep that night. We couldn’t understand how this could have happened. Right in out own living room! We have worked so hard to “protect” our children from the evil things in this world. After wrestling with the Lord all night, He spoke to me in that still small voice, “Only I, can protect them.” That was enough for me.

Leave a Reply

