Parenting with the End in Mind

Steven Covey said it: “Begin with the end in mind.”  It’s something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately regarding parenting.  Especially in regards to one of my children that particularly challenges my mad mothering skills.  He is a joy to parent but sometimes I’m not sure where the line is between “re-directing” and “crushing.”  No good parent wants to crush the spirit of her child.  But I look at this child lately and realize how much wonder is actually going through his little mind.  How much love, compassion, sensitivity to the things going on around him.  Sometimes this is expressed in a manner that is less desirable to me, but what I see is a person who will one day grow up to be a strong and dynamic leader.

With that in mind, I’ve decided to ask God to show me today, how to shape him for this future that I believe could be in store for him.  A good friend reminded me a few days ago that these thoughts, these actions of his won’t last long.  He won’t always think this way.  He won’t always react this way.  A difficult thing to remember in the middle of trying to help a child make the right choice. 

I would like my kids to look back on their child hood and remember their parents as ones who were great encouragers of who they are.  While discipline has its place (a rather large one at our house), so does fun, laughter, dialogue and most of all dreaming and visioneering.  It’s just hard to remember that sometimes.  🙂

May God’s grace surround us and you.

One thought on “Parenting with the End in Mind

Leave a Reply

