Food on Friday

My 8YO in the most sincerest voice declared to me tonight: “I’m glad you are from Iran.” Not because of who it’s made me, but for the food that comes with me. 🙂 As he was enjoying a plate of adas polo (rice with lentils), I thought I’d post the recipe. Lentils are a great source of protein and fiber and really tasty too. They have also become a running joke in my marriage as Steve admits he didn’t even know what a lentil was before we got married. So here is my recipe (passed on to me by my grandma who makes it way better than I) for Adas Polo:

Serves 6-8

3 cups of basmati rice
1 cup of green lentils
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 tbsp of turmeric
1/2 tsp of saffron, diluted in a about 1/8 cup of boiling water.
1 tsp of cinnamon
1/2 tsp of nutmeg
olive oil
salt

Place the lentils in a sauce pan cover with water about an inch higher. Add a splash of olive oil, the cinnamon and nutmeg and bring to a boil. Lower the heat to a simmer until they are slightly undercooked.

Meanwhile, fry the onions in a tablespoon of olive oil until they are golden. Add the turmeric and fry for a minute or two. Rinse the rice a few times and put it in the rice cooker with 5 cups of water, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, a tablespoon of salt. Add the lentils and the onions and turn it on. When the water finishes, mix it all around and add the saffron. Let it cook for 30-40 more minutes. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Food on Friday

  1. Pingback: Food on Fridays: Cocoa Math «

  2. Pingback: Food on Fridays: Tea Distraction «

Leave a Reply

