National Day of Prayer

On this day, I will pray…

Not for God to bless America, because He already has. Rather, I will pray we will become a nation that will bless others because of how He has blessed us.

Not for politicians I may think are the best to take office. Rather for the ones God has appointed according to His purposes. I will pray they will lead with integrity, preferring others and upholding the law.

Not for the state of California to resolve its dire financial mess. Rather that we would all {myself included} be better stewards of what we have, not be so greedy, give generously and live abundantly.

Not for education cuts to just be stopped… But for policy makers and school board members to look into the eyes of a child and realize what a critical part of their future and ours they play. I will pray for the teachers and staff that are passionate and dedicated, like the ones at Taper Avenue, to take heart and stand firm in these times and find their hope in the God who sees them.

Not for Gay Marriage to pass or not pass. But for families… all of them… to be transformed into the image of Christ and His Church as originally planned to bring greater transformation to society.

Not for peace in the middle east. Rather, I will pray for Peace in the hearts of men.

Not for our troops to stay safe, because safety is not what they signed up for. Rather, I will pray for them to be strong and courageous and to know Who the Lord God is, and that He is with them wherever they go.

Not for churches to be filled with people.  Rather I will pray for the Church to be filled with the Spirit so the people who walk through her doors will experience radical faith and authentic community.

Not for God to heal the land of America.  Rather that He will heal and bring restoration to all His creation.

Lastly, I will pray to my Father in Heaven, hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come, thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day, our daily bread and forgive our debts, and help us forgive our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. I will thank Him forgiving me of all the wicked things in my heart and things I’ve done and pray that I can forgive anyone who has hurt me, my family, my community, my country… The one I came from and the one I belong to now.

Let Him be glorified… Not our nation.

How will you be praying?

6 thoughts on “National Day of Prayer

  1. Well I had a long drawn out prayer planned about restoration and reconciling the hearts of people to one another, but I like your list better. Well said and Amen.

  2. Suzie, How can you write so eloquently and so unselfishly while you are in the midst of sitting by your Dad’s side as he strains to recover from a heart attack? Thank you for reminding me His ways are higher than mine and His Kingdom come and His will be done.

    • suzie – beautiful. not only does this reflect my heart as i could not have said it; it truly reflects the heart of the merciful God we serve; the God of every tribe, nation and people. To him be the glory!

      “i looked and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people, and language, standing before the throne and in front of the Lamb. they were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands. and they cried out in a loud voice:”Salvation belongs to our God, who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb” … He who sits on the throne will spread his tent over them. never again will they hunger; never again will they thirst. the sun will not beat upon them, nor any scorching heat. for the Lamb at the center of the throne will be their Shepherd; he will lead them to springs of living water. and God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”

      Rev 7;9-10,15-17

Leave a Reply

