Good Enough

There are days when I am hard on myself for the things I could have done better. Days I could have been more patient, more kind and intentional.  Days I could have not yelled, or said that one thing or joked in that crude way. I could have been less snarky and more encouraging.  More hopeful and less doubtful.

Yet I am reminded of His mercies, which are new every morning and comforted by the company I keep with those who are attempting to emulate Someone perfect while battling the lie of perfection.

It is written:

We are His workmanship created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

He prepared them… we are to do them.  He is the artist.  Sure, we are to do good but nothing good comes out of us apart from Jesus.  While it also says, everything we do should be done heartily because we do it for Him and not for others, sometimes good is good enough.

The only thing perfect about me is and will always be, Christ Jesus within me.

Everything else is susceptible to failure and short coming.

This 11 and under crowd will, no matter how hard I try to prevent it, bear wounds from my many imperfections.  They will have work through my mistakes and it will be part of their story.  I see their own struggle with perfection already forming them.  It shows up in a fear of losing and even a fear of being fearful.

The root of it all is pride. The ugly root that takes hold in my heart and needs to be dug out no matter how long and hard the work is to do so.

I need to become okay with being good enough.  Good enough as a mom. A good enough wife. A good enough friend.

In the good enough He will be praised for His excellencies.  Our dependency on Him becomes more clear to ourselves and those around us.

Lord, help me be good enough at what is before me today

and let me see the excellence in all your ways.

6 thoughts on “Good Enough

  1. I so, so, so needed this today. I could’ve actually used this for like the last 15 years 😉 But at least aI have it now to read as needed. Which is like, every day. Thanks, Suzie. Once again, your words are blessings.

  2. Your life is an exquisite poem written by the wonderfully mysterious hand of Jesus. You are so much more than good enough!

  3. Love this. Thank you for sharing your heart so eloquently and so “real-ly”. An encouragement to me – and exactly what I needed to hear today, I think. A very imperfect me today was reminded of just how beautifully perfect our God is. Thank you Jesus!

  4. I’ve had this open since you posted it. I keep rereading it. I am in a very trying season that makes this just a little harder to believe than it has been in the past. Thank you for giving me this great reminder, it has truly encouraged me.

Leave a Reply

