Five {31 Days of Wisdom}

My son, be attentive to my wisdom; incline your ear to my understanding, that you may keep discretion, and your lips may guard knowledge.

I have a son who has trouble paying attention and often the result is, he misplaces things.

It’s the little things like homework, toys, socks and shoes.  But it’s a reminder that if we don’t pay attention and be careful, it’s very easy to misplace things.

It can happen to anyone.

We can misplace things and not even realize it until we’ve lost something dear.

Misplacing our steps can lead us to a place we never thought we would find ourselves.

When we fix our gaze on things that look so good and will taste good for a time, like the sweet drip of honey, we lose sight of the One who desires to keep our feet planted on what will be good for eternity.

Misplaced footsteps.

Misplaced honor. Treasuring what never belonged to us in the first place.

Misplaced obedience.

Misplaced love.

Looking at what will feel like love to us and obeys the cries of flesh rather than the One who loved us first.

Our love is cheap when you think of it.  It’s easy to take it from Him without realizing it and give it away to someone or something undeserving.

And though our rejection of Him isn’t so obvious…at least right away, it plays itself out through the ways we reject those around us.

Choosing what we love over who we love.  Choosing us over them.

Some call it idolatry. And in the book of Hosea it’s played out in a story of adultery.  Either way it’s starts in the same place.

It’s easy to look at Proverbs 5 and think Thank God this doesn’t apply to me.

I haven’t committed adultery with a man but I certainly been unfaithful.  I haven’t forsaken my marriage vows but I’ve been unfaithful to my God. I have loved others more than Him.  I’ve loved things created more than the One who created me. I have misplaced my footsteps onto my way and not His.

Today I am thankful for God’s unfailing love.  His faithfulness is not contingent upon mine.

Know therefore that the LORD your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations. {Deuteronomy 7:9}

This is the 4th post in a 31 Day series: Wisdom. Start from the beginning here

You can also find over 1000 other topics from bloggers also participating here.

6 thoughts on “Five {31 Days of Wisdom}

  1. With leaping joy I pray for the opportunity to move towards the indomitable steps set before me to cleave to sacred knowledge shared by the Holy Spirit who guards my heart and leads me into all truth. Thank you Suzie for encouraging though words and speech.

  2. So thankful He doesn’t misplace us – 2 Timothy 2:13. Thank you, Suzie, for taking us with you on this 31 day journey to wisdom

Leave a Reply

