Eighteen {31 Days of Wisdom}

“The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous run to it and are safe.” {Proverbs 18:10}

When I was in 9th grade, my mom’s Multiple Sclerosis had advanced to the point it was becoming increasingly difficult for her to stand up on her own.  She had just recently put her trust in Jesus and decided to become one of His followers.  When she would try to stand up with difficulty, I remember her just calling out, “Jesus!”

I’ll admit, at the time, I thought it was weird.

She would do this several times a day and looking back, knowing what I know now, I understand it was her way for calling out and praying for strength.

I am not handicapped physically, but in my own life I have days where I certainly feel limited.  Limited in my energy, patience, in love for those around me and limited in faith and belief I will be able to handle all that is in front of me.

Beth Moore once advised mothers of young children to even just get down on your knees for one minute each morning and pray, “Lord, help me.” 

Our God is all-knowing and fully present in every space and time.  In each moment of each day, He is there. Better yet, He knows every word before it’s even on our tongues and He knows every thought before it crosses our minds.

So when we pray the prayer, “Lord, help me…” or simply call out the name of Jesus… He is the master of reading between the lines and knows every thought and emotion that surrounds that prayer.

His name is a strong tower.  Run to it, call it out, shout for Him and He will lead you to safety.

One thought on “Eighteen {31 Days of Wisdom}

Leave a Reply

