Twenty-Two {31 Days of Wisdom}

Since the age of 18 when I got my first credit card, I have gone in and out of debt.  From credit cards, to medical bills, to school loans and now a house, I have paid off…racked up…paid off…racked up and paid off.  Not it’s not just me, but we…

A few years ago, we went through a small group study called Crown Financial.  It was during that time when a light bulb went off for me and I put a box around this verse:

What became clear to me was that I, the borrower, had become slave to many lenders, there by possibly keeping me from serving freely in the way I wanted to.

It was keeping me from being as generous as I would like to have been. 

Keeping us from giving more than we were able to.

Since the change in perspective, the road hasn’t been easy but thankfully God has been gracious, creative and patient with us.

We have learned how not to become enslaved and plan to never go there again.  We have learned how to be better stewards and serve one master.

If you like so many people right now are struggling to get out of debt, become wiser financially, I can’t say enough about Dave Ramsey… his class was so helpful to us and complimented the Crown Financial material in such a practical way.  Simple Mom also has some great tools and advice as well as many cost saving tips for everyone…not just moms.

It can be a long haul but it’s so worth it.  It’s for freedom Christ has set you free.  Don’t give up your freedom and become the slave to a lender.

 

 

 

One thought on “Twenty-Two {31 Days of Wisdom}

  1. So, so true! I think we have to keep in mind that our spending is not a sign of our worth as individuals. When I was first married and money was tight, I wanted to keep spending because I wanted to keep up the standard of living to which I had become accustomed as a single person. I couldn’t really afford to stop for some fast food, but I didn’t want to admit that to myself because all my friends stopped for fast food when they wanted it. I was the same kind of person they were, therefore I should be able to buy the fast food, buy new shoes on a whim, go out to a movie etc. I wasn’t THAT kind of person, you know, those poor people who aren’t cool enough to afford things… It actually took a number of weeks of me telling myself the truth.. out loud, in the car, “I cannot afford those things because we do not have the money.” I had to think of myself as “poor” to get it through my head. And once I did, I was set free from the lie that money, spending, wealth or standard of living has ANYTHING to do with my worth as a person. And once I was set free from that lie, I was able to understand how my idea of “poor” was actually “rich” to most of the rest of the population on this planet.

    For freedom Christ has set us free indeed!

Leave a Reply

